skip navigation

Knight Boys Win 3rd Conference Title in a Row

By Craig Olson, 05/22/23, 10:45PM CDT


The West Central Area Knights' boys golfers won their 3rd Quad County Conference Championship in a row on Monday and broke their school scoring record in the process with an impressive team score of 304.  The Knights had five boys post scores in the 70's.  The Knights took home 5 of the top 7 places.  Sam Hanson 75 (2nd), Marshall Dewey 76 (3rd), Brett Amundson 76 (4th), Mitch Dewey 77, (5th) and Peyton Hanson 78 (7th).  

Logan Kostelecky from OTC was the 1st place medalist also with a 75.  In the conference tournament, ties are broken with an actual playoff.  Kostelecky and Sam Hanson went 6 extra holes before Kostelecky came out on top.  "We are so proud of Sam, he is one of the grittiest athletes I know. He never gives up. He made some gritty up and downs to keep the playoff going for six holes," said Knights Coach Kraig Hunter.

Marshall Dewey defeated teammate Brett Amundson for the 3rd place tie and Mitch Dewey defeated Border West's Nolan Wilson for 5th place. Wilson took the 6th place medal.

Team scores were WCA 304, Pillager 329, OTC 336, Hillcrest 342, Border West 344, Underwood 351, LPGE-Browerville 408, Ashby-Brandon Evansville 417, Rothsay 420.

Conference Championship Team Members: (PHOTO) - Left to RIght: Cole Anderson, Marshall Dewey, Cam Anderson, Mitch Dewey, Peyton Hanson, Sam Hanson, Brett Amundson

Hunter said, "Great team effort today. Real balanced scores. It is great to see these guys win the conference championship and break the school record. They go above and beyond in their practice and dedication. They are very deserving."

The All-Conference team for the season's top players were also named.  The top 15 boys made all-conference.  The Knights placed five boys on the All-Conference team. The team is as follows:

WCA - Marshall Dewey, Mitch Dewey, Brett Amundson, Peyton Hanson, Sam Hanson

OTC - Logan Kostlecky (Conference Medalist), Carter Dilly, Nathan Hillman.

Underwood - Hudson Risbrudt and Jaxson Swonger

Border West - Cole Gilsdorf and Nolan Wilson

Ashby - Traeton Nelson

Pillager- Jackson Comacho

Hillcrest - Eric Bjorndahl